Box Office 020 7520 1490

Albion Quartet

Loss and Defiance

Sun 21 Oct 2018

Albion Quartet

Loss and Defiance

Beethoven String Quartet No. 11 in F minor, Op. 95 Quartetto serioso
Britten String Quartet No. 2 in C, Op. 36
Dvořák String Quartet No. 8 in E, Op. 80
Tamsin Waley-Cohen violin
Emma Parker violin
Rosalind Ventris viola
Nathaniel Boyd cello

Led by Tamsin Waley-Cohen, the Albion Quartet presents works reflecting on the themes of loss and defiance. Beethoven’s F minor Quartet was composed in late 1810 during the Napoleonic War and Britten’s Second Quartet was written in 1945 amid feelings of loss, relief and euphoria at the end of the Second World War. Dvořák’s Eighth Quartet is tinged with sadness and nostalgia, but also with defiance and strength. The third of Albion Quartet’s thematic mini-cycle.

FREE Pre-concert foyer performance, 5.45pm

Sarah Small (viola da gamba) and Jonatan Bougt (theorbo) explore the themes of loss and defiance through early music, including Tobias Hume’s Death, music by Marais and more.

Date & time:Sun 21 Oct 2018 – 6.30pm
Venue:Hall One

Past event

Sign up to the Kings Place newsletter to find out first about our events.

Sign-up to our newsletter