Tel 020 7520 1440

Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment: Restoration Music

London Unwrapped

Wed 13 Oct 2021

Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment: Restoration Music

London Unwrapped

Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment
Steven Devine  director
Zoe Brookshaw soprano
Clive Myrie narrator
Giovanni Battista Draghi (1640 – 1708) Symphony: 'From Harmony, from Heav’nly Harmony'
'Orpheus could lead the Savage Race'
Ritornello: 'From Harmony, from Heav’nly Harmony'
Henry Purcell (1659 – 1695) King Arthur: “You Say ‘tis love”
Pavan in B flat
Abdelazar: Overture & Rondeau
'A Dialogue between Thyrsis and Daphne' 
Louis Grabu (1665 – 1694) - A selection from Albion and Albanius Overture 
Air for Mercury’s Followers 
'Oh Jealousy'
Entry of Heroes 
John Blow (1649 – 1708) 'As on Septimus’ panting breast'
Ground in G minor 
'Sing ye Muses'

Let Samuel Pepys be your guide to music in Restoration London, with scintillating works by Henry Purcell, John Blow and their contemporaries in a sequence narrated by Clive Myrie and Steven Devine.

The second English civil war and the decade of unstable republican government that followed it was a repressive and miserable time. Families were torn apart, theatres were closed and music was silenced. When the ‘merry’ monarchy was restored with Charles II, those living in London breathed a sigh of relief and turned to the arts to give them the strength and inspiration to rebuild their way of life.

Through this sequence of short and thrilling pieces of music performed by the OAE and Stars of the Enlightenment singers, we draw parallels with our experience of pandemic recovery, and our determination to see the arts flourish once more.

Highlights include the music of Draghi, who, at the request of King Charles, migrated to London from Italy to compose for the newly-opened opera houses and theatres. The concert also features the playful Sing ye Muses by John Blow, who moved to London during the restoration to be the organist of Westminster Abbey, as well as the dreamy duet You Say ‘Tis Love from King Arthur by London native Henry Purcell.

Concert directed by OAE Principal Keyboard Steven Devine and readings from Samuel Pepys’ diary by Clive Myrie.

Date:Wed 13 Oct 2021
Start time:8pm (Doors: 7.30pm)
Venue:Hall One

Past event

Sign up to the Kings Place newsletter to find out first about our events.

Sign-up to our newsletter