Tel 020 7520 1440

Mark Simpson

Darkness Moves

Sat 11 Dec 2021

Mark Simpson

Darkness Moves

Jonathan Harvey Ricercare una Melodia for clarinet and delay system
Julian Anderson Mime for solo clarinet (first public performance)
Phillip Cashian Volvelles for clarinet and electronics (world premiere) 
Steve Reich New York Counterpoint
Zoë Martlew Atma for clarinet and electronics (world premiere)  
Helmut Lachenmann Dal Niente (Interieur III)
Mark Simpson Darkness Moves (world premiere of version with electronics)
Mark Simpson clarinet
Phil Dawson electronics

Mark Simpson performs a programme of clarinet and electronics/loops featuring world premieres and contemporary classics by Steve Reich and Jonathan Harvey.

The night features performances of new works for solo clarinet and electronics by Mark Simpson himself, Zoë Martlew and Philip Cashian, plus a scintillating recent piece by Julian Anderson. Reich’s enduringly popular New York Counterpoint and Jonathan Harvey’s ethereal Ricercare una Melodia make up the programme.

Leading composer and clarinettist Mark Simpson is a galvanising creative force in the UK music scene: his latest work, a violin concerto, was premiered by Nicola Benedetti and the LSO this year to wide acclaim, his opera, Pleasure, and oratorio, The Immortal, were described as ‘a genuine coup’ and ‘thrilling’. He’s also a member of Kaleidoscope Ensemble, and appears as a soloist internationally.

‘There appeared… to be nothing that this hugely talented soloist could not do… Highly impressive.’ Bachtrack

Date:Sat 11 Dec 2021
Start time:8pm (Doors: 7.30pm)
Venue:Hall Two

Past event

Sign up to the Kings Place newsletter to find out first about our events.

Sign-up to our newsletter