Box Office 020 7520 1490

Aurora Orchestra with Nicholas Angelich

Beethoven 250 / Mozart’s Piano / Nature Unwrapped

Sat 8 Feb 2020

Aurora Orchestra with Nicholas Angelich

Beethoven 250 / Mozart’s Piano / Nature Unwrapped

Dobrinka Tabakova Dawn
Mozart Piano Concerto No. 24 in C minor, K491
Beethoven Symphony No. 1 in C, Op. 21
Nicholas Angelich piano
Alexandra Wood violin
Sébastien van Kuijk cello
Nicholas Collon conductor

Aurora Orchestra enters the fifth and final year of its Mozart’s Piano series, built around the first cycle of Mozart’s 27 piano concertos ever presented in the UK.

The American pianist Nicholas Angelich makes his Kings Place debut as soloist for the C minor concerto No. 24 (K491), widely considered one of Mozart’s greatest and described by Brahms as ‘a masterpiece of art… full of inspired ideas.’

Another admirer of the concerto was the young Beethoven, who on hearing the work in rehearsal in 1799 reportedly exclaimed ‘We shall never be able to do anything like that!’ Just a year later, in 1800, he premiered the first of his symphonies, consolidating his reputation as the musical heir to Mozart and Haydn with a work that honoured their musical tradition whilst offering glimpses of his more radical mature voice.

Dobrinka Tabakova’s Dawn is a radiant sunrise for strings with violin and cello soloists.

Book this evening’s late-night Lock-In: Mozart Quintet for Piano and Winds

Date & start time:Sat 8 Feb 2020 – 7pm
Venue:Hall One
+ £3 booking fee.

Booking Fees

A booking fee of £3.00 per transaction will be triggered in accordance with the type of tickets in your shopping basket. All tickets, including the £9.50 Savers, are subject to a booking fee, with the exemptions of flat-rate £9.50 tickets (not advertised as Savers), and any other tickets cheaper than £9.50. An optional postage fee of £1.50 is applied if you wish to receive your tickets by post. Booking fees do not apply to purchases made in person at the Box Office.

Availability:Tickets available

*subject to availability

Aurora Orchestra with Nicholas Angelich Back to top
Book tickets