Aurora Orchestra with Imogen Cooper - Online Event

Mozart’s Piano

Mozart Piano Concerto No. 25 in C, K503 (arranged for chamber ensemble)
Perivolaris New work
Schubert Piano Quintet in A, D. 667 'The Trout'

Aurora Orchestra returns to live performance at Kings Place with a special series of intimate chamber concerts. Join us in Hall One or watch the performance live online, and celebrate Aurora’s long-awaited return to live music.

Five years ago, Aurora embarked on Mozart’s Piano, the first complete performance cycle of Mozart’s piano concertos ever staged in the UK. This monumental cycle was set to culminate in 2020, with performances of Mozart’s final concertos at Kings Place throughout the year. Circumstances have changed, but Aurora’s Mozart’s Piano journey continues in this special chamber series, with three concerts featuring the concertos in reduced versions, alongside major chamber works and a series of new commissions.

In this concert, internationally-renowned pianist Imogen Cooper joins Principal Players of Aurora for an arrangement of Mozart’s radiant Piano Concerto No. 25, paired with Schubert’s much-loved ‘Trout’ Quintet. Completing the programme is a new commission from Electra Perivolaris, hailed by James Macmillan as “One of the most exciting young composers emerging in Scotland today.”

For the first time, bookers for this Aurora concert have the option to purchase tickets to attend in person, or to watch the live stream online (click here to purchase tickets to attend in person).

Last year marked the 10-year anniversary of Aurora’s relationship with the BBC Young Composer Competition: over the previous decade, Aurora performed well over a hundred new works by the talented young composers selected as competition winners and runners-up. To celebrate this collaboration, and to enrich our newly-unveiled autumn season with the music of some of the UK’s outstanding new musical voices, each of Aurora’s three concerts at Kings Place this autumn will feature a new commission for a former BBC Young Composer. Further details about the commissions will be announced soon.

Aurora Orchestra with Imogen Cooper - Online Event

Mozart’s Piano

Date & start time:Sat 17 Oct – 7pm
+ £3 booking fee.

Booking Fees

A booking fee of £3.00 per transaction will be triggered in accordance with the type of tickets in your shopping basket. All tickets, including the £9.50 Savers, are subject to a booking fee, with the exemptions of flat-rate £9.50 tickets (not advertised as Savers), and any other tickets cheaper than £9.50. An optional postage fee of £1.50 is applied if you wish to receive your tickets by post. Booking fees do not apply to purchases made in person at the Box Office.

Performers:Aurora Orchestra
Composers:Electra, Franz Peter, MOZART, MOZART, Wolfgang Amadeus, PERIVOLARIS, PERIVOLARIS, Electra, SCHUBERT, SCHUBERT, Franz Peter, Wolfgang Amadeus
Genres:Classical, Mozart’s Piano, Online Events