Box Office 020 7520 1490

Aurora Orchestra with Ronald Brautigam and Amy Dickson

Reels and Dances

Sat 28 Sep 2019

Aurora Orchestra with Ronald Brautigam and Amy Dickson

Reels and Dances

James Macmillan Saxophone Concerto (London premiere)
Mozart Piano Concerto No. 20 in D minor, K466
Felix Mendelssohn Symphony No. 3 in A minor, ‘Scottish’
Ronald Brautigam piano
Amy Dickson saxophone
Nicholas Collon conductor

Aurora Orchestra travels to a land of soaring mountains and haunting myths, conjuring up the evocative drama of Scotland – from its folk music to its landscape – in the company of pianist Ronald Brautigam and saxophonist Amy Dickson.

Legendary Dutch pianist Ronald Brautigam makes his debut with Aurora in one of Mozart’s darkest works, the D-minor Piano Concerto, adored for its tragic expressive character. It’s no surprise that Beethoven admired this concerto above all other Mozart piano concertos and only ever performed this one in public.

The evocative atmosphere continues into Mendelssohn’s ‘Scottish’ Symphony, a work inspired by the composer’s travels to the Highlands, where he was mesmerised by the dramatic landscape and history. Also in the Scottish theme and continuing the orchestra’s series of commissions for 2019, Aurora presents a new work by one of the foremost composers of our time, James MacMillan. Written for Classic Brit Award winner Amy Dickson, this bright, punchy Saxophone Concerto spins traditional Scottish musical forms – a strathspey, reel, jig and Gaelic psalm singing – into vivid modern miniatures.

‘Everything around is broken and mouldering, and the bright sky shines in. I believe I have found today in that old chapel the beginning of my Scottish Symphony.’ Mendelssohn

‘Stunning performances that are technically breathtaking, stylistically astute, emotionally intense and musically alive in every moment.’ Gramophone on Ronald Brautigam

Pre-concert talk: Ronald Brautigam and Amy Dickson with Nicholas Collon
St Pancras Room, 6pm

Book this evening’s late-night Lock-In: Mozart in the Garden

James MacMillan’s Saxophone Concerto is co-commissioned by Aurora Orchestra, Perth Concert Hall and Adelaide Symphony Orchestra.

Date & start time:Sat 28 Sep 2019 – 7pm
Venue:Hall One

Past event

Sign up to the Kings Place newsletter to find out first about our events.

Sign-up to our newsletter