Box Office 020 7520 1490

Mathilde Milwidsky & Petr Limonov

Venus and the Violin II

Sun 6 Oct 2019

Mathilde Milwidsky & Petr Limonov

Venus and the Violin II

JS Bach Sonata for Violin & Keyboard in E, BWV1016
Agnes Zimmermann Sonata for Piano & Violin No. 2 in A minor, Op. 21
Clara Schumann Three Romances, Op. 22
Johannes Brahms Violin Sonata No. 1 in G, Op. 78
Mathilde Milwidsky violin
Petr Limonov piano

In 1915, in the midst of the Suffragette and Suffragist movement, Agnes Zimmermann’s First Violin Sonata featured in a concert of women composers in the South Place Sunday Concerts, the precursor to the LCMS series. By then, the nearly 70-year-old composer was famous in Victorian England as a fine pianist and composer – Joseph Joachim premiered her work and thought highly of her, and she enjoyed close friendships with many composers and performers of her day, including Clara Schumann, with whom she regularly performed.

This concert, given by the prize-winning duo Mathilde Milwidsky and Petr Limonov, traces and explores some of these rich associations in her work.

Please note, due to unforeseen circumstances, pianist Sam Haywood can no longer attend the event. Petr Limonov is kindly stepping in. The repertoire has been amended and no longer reflects the information in our What’s On brochure. We apologise for any confusion this may cause.

FREE Pre-Concert Talk by Peter Fribbins, St Pancras Room, 5.20pm

Peter Fribbins (Director of Music, Faculty of Arts & Creative Industries Middlesex University, London) reflects on the music of Agnes Zimmermann (1847-1925).

Date & start time:Sun 6 Oct 2019 – 6.30pm
Venue:Hall Two

Past event

Sign up to the Kings Place newsletter to find out first about our events.

Sign-up to our newsletter