Box Office 020 7520 1490

Mozart’s Requiem

Hugo Ticciati, O/Modernt, Signum Quartet, VOCES8 & soloists

Sat 1 Dec

Mozart’s Requiem

Hugo Ticciati, O/Modernt, Signum Quartet, VOCES8 & soloists

Schubert String Quartet No. 14, D810 Death and the Maiden
Mozart Requiem in D minor, K626
O/Modernt Chamber Orchestra
Hugo Ticciati violin
Signum Quartet
Mary Bevan soprano
Katie Bray mezzo
Sam Dressel tenor
Dingle Yandell bass

An intimate performance of Mozart’s sublime Requiem directed by Hugo Ticciati with O/Modernt Chamber Orchestra and VOCES8 is prefaced by Schubert’s coruscating vision of mortality, Death and the Maiden, performed by the Signum Quartet.

1791, The last year of Mozart’s life was one of optimism and creative ferment: Mozart completed Die Zauberflöte, La clemenza di Tito and the Clarinet Concerto at astonishing speed, leaving only the Requiem unfinished at the time of his final illness. A tangle of myths grew up around it, fed by Peter Shaffer’s play Amadeus, but while it was not conceived as the composer’s own Requiem, and contains the hands of others, it has often been cited as one of the most moving works in all music.

Thanks to its rousing and lively interpretations and individual programme concepts, the Signum Quartet has made its mark on the international quartet scene and has established itself as one of the most distinguished ensembles of its generation.

Intensive studies with the Alban Berg Quartet, Artemis Quartet and the Melos Quartet as well as collaborations with György Kurtág, Walter Levin, Alfred Brendel, Leon Fleisher and Joerg Widmann have shaped the artistic development of the Signum Quartet, which has won numerous awards (German Music Competition, Premio Paolo Borciani, London International String Quartet Competition) and has been accorded intensive support (i.a. BBC New Generation Artists).

Hugo Ticciati, artist-in-tesidence for Time Unwrapped, also performs:
2 Mar Alternate Time Flows – Dame Evelyn Glennie & O/Modernt Quartet
11 May Time Stands Still – Hugo Ticciati, Víkingur Ólafsson & Miyoko Shida Rigolo
21 Sep Looping Time – Hugo Ticciati & O/Modernt
5 Dec Quartet for the End of Time – Hugo Ticciati & Friends

Date & time:Sat 1 Dec – 7.30pm
Venue:Hall One
Price:£49.50-£29.50 | Savers Sold Out
+ £3 booking fee.

Booking Fees

A £3.00 booking fee will be applied to all telephone and online purchases. An optional postage fee of £1.50 is applied if you wish to receive your tickets by post. Booking fees do not apply to purchases made in person at the Box Office.

Availability:Tickets available

*subject to availability

Mozart’s Requiem Back to top
Book tickets