Tel 020 7520 1440

Shostakovich Quartet Cycle Part 4: String Quartet Nos. 7, 8 & 9

The Complete Shostakovich Quartets

Sat 29 Oct

Shostakovich Quartet Cycle Part 4: String Quartet Nos. 7, 8 & 9

The Complete Shostakovich Quartets

Shostakovich String Quartet No. 7 in F-sharp minor, Op. 108
String Quartet No. 8 in C minor, Op. 110
String Quartet No. 9 in E-flat major, Op. 117
Brodsky Quartet
Elizabeth Wilson speaker

Brodsky Quartet celebrate their 50th anniversary with a complete cycle of Shostakovich’s String Quartets across one weekend, played in the intimacy of Hall One, interleaved with talks.

In this special anniversary weekend, the Brodsky Quartet present the full cycle of Shostakovich’s String Quartets. Each concert includes a performance of two quartets and a brief introduction from Elizabeth Wilson, who will share her extensive knowledge of Shostakovich’s life and music, with each of the 15 string quartets examined and illuminated through lively discussion with members of the Brodsky Quartet.

Paul Cassidy, viola, writes: ‘And so we arrive at the heart of the cycle, a staging post, if you like, on the most personal journey in all of music. Quartet No.7, written in memory of his first wife Nina, is the shortest of the set. Almost Webern-esque in its succinctness, it nevertheless carries poignancy, its four short movements carrying sadness, humour and anger in equal measure.

Quartet No.8, written as his own epitaph, is surely the most intimate and self-revealing work ever composed by anyone. Using his very own four note musical motif, he pours out his heart and soul onto the page, masterfully mapping out his life’s journey.

Quartet No.9 is a magnificent five movement declaration of love for his new wife, Irina. Bursting with melody, its boundless energy is intoxicating, reaching fever-pitch in the incomparable final bars which never fail to have me jumping up and down whilst trying to execute them.’

Elizabeth Wilson is the author of Shostakovich- A Life Remembered, considered by many to be the most vivid, informative and revealing biography of the composer. As a cellist, she studied in Moscow with Mstislav Rostropovich – during which time she encountered Shostakovich, and attended the premières of many of his later works.  As a performer she has worked with such major composers as Arvo Part, Alfred Schnittke and James MacMillan, and as a biographer has also written of Jacqueline Du Pre and her teacher Rostropovich. Her most recent book, Playing with Fire, is devoted to the life and times of the maverick Soviet pianist Maria Yudina, friend and champion of Shostakovich, Prokofiev, Hindemith and Stravinsky.

Date:Sat 29 Oct
Start time:7pm (Doors: 6.30pm)
Venue:Hall One
+ £3 booking fee.

Booking Fees

A booking fee of £3.00 per transaction will be triggered in accordance with the type of tickets in your shopping basket. All tickets, including the £9.50 Savers, are subject to a booking fee, with the exemptions of flat-rate £9.50 tickets (not advertised as Savers), and any other tickets cheaper than £9.50. An optional postage fee of £1.50 is applied if you wish to receive your tickets by post. Booking fees do not apply to purchases made in person at the Box Office.

Availability:Tickets available
£8.50 ‘Under 30s’ tickets available
A limited number of £8.50 (no booking fee) tickets are available with this show for attendees aged under 30. Please select the 'Under 30s' ticket option during the booking pathway (if the option is not there, this means all 'Under 30s' tickets have sold out). Please note that proof of ID may be requested at the venue. This offer does not apply to the higher price categories.
Multi-buy offers available for The Complete Shostakovich Quartets
Buy tickets to 2 concerts or more and receive 10% off. Buy tickets to 3 concerts or more and get 15% off. St Pancras Room Lecture not included. Events must be booked in one payment to receive the discount. Discount will not be added to orders booked separately. Find out more about the weekend on The Complete Shostakovich Quartets series page.
Shostakovich Quartet Cycle Part 4: String Quartet Nos. 7, 8 & 9 Back to top
Book tickets