Box Office 020 7520 1490

Explore Ensemble: In Dreams and Shadows

Fri 13 Dec

Explore Ensemble: In Dreams and Shadows

Saunders O, Yes & I (UK premiere)
Kaija Saariaho Je sens un deuxième coeur
Joanna Bailie Artificial Environments Nos.1-5
Kaija Saariaho NoaNoa
Rebecca Saunders Shadow
Kaija Saariaho Figura (UK premiere)
Juliet Fraser soprano
Explore Ensemble

Explore Ensemble celebrates the music of Kaija Saariaho and Rebecca Saunders in a double portrait concert complimented by a recent work of Joanna Bailie. Joined by the renowned soprano Juliet Fraser, Explore give the UK premiere of Saunders’ duo O, Yes & I setting texts from Molly Bloom’s stream of consciousness monologue that closes James Joyce’s Ulysses, sharply contrasted by Saunders’ beguiling piano work Shadow.

Saariaho’s Je sens un deuxième coeur (I feel a second heart) escapes to a dreamlike world. Heating up the programme is Saariaho’s ebullient flute and electronics work, NoaNoa. More surreal is Bailie’s ensemble and electronics work Artificial Environments Nos. 1-5, in which the ensemble wander through sonically transformed field recordings of frozen and stretched church bells, speech and street noises, taken from walks around several international cities. Closing the concert is the UK premiere of Saariaho’s Figura – a dazzling chamber music version of her renowned clarinet concerto D’Om le Vrai Sens, which sees soloist Benjamin Mellefont in dialogue with the ensemble, together evoking the medieval theories of sensuality.

Date & start time:Fri 13 Dec – 8pm
Venue:Hall Two
+ £3 booking fee.

Booking Fees

A booking fee of £3.00 per transaction will be triggered in accordance with the type of tickets in your shopping basket. All tickets, including the £9.50 Savers, are subject to a booking fee, with the exemptions of flat-rate £9.50 tickets (not advertised as Savers), and any other tickets cheaper than £9.50. An optional postage fee of £1.50 is applied if you wish to receive your tickets by post. Booking fees do not apply to purchases made in person at the Box Office.

Availability:Tickets available
‘Under 30s’ tickets available
A limited number of £8.50 (no booking fee) tickets are available with this show for attendees aged under 30. Enter promo code ‘UNDER30’ at check-out to find this price type. Please note that these tickets can only be collected at our Box Office and proof of ID may be requested. This offer does not apply to the higher price categories.
Explore Ensemble: In Dreams and Shadows Back to top
Book tickets