Box Office 020 7520 1490

CoMA Anniversary Ensemble

Forest of Clocks

Sun 23 Sep

CoMA Anniversary Ensemble

Forest of Clocks

Programme includes:
Philip Cashian The Forest of Clocks
Howard Jones The Illusion of Progress
Michaël Lévinas Trois Pensées pour CoMA
Ruta Vitkauskaite new work (world premiere)
CoMA Anniversary Ensemble
Gregory Rose conductor

An evening of time-warping highlights from CoMA’s catalogue, reflecting the diverse languages of composers today.

Philip Cashian’s magical odyssey for choir and orchestra The Forest of Clocks, sets the poetry of Pablo Neruda, Kathleen Raine and Federico García Lorca, whose evocative poem gives the work its title: ‘I entered the forest/of clocks/Leaves were ticking/bells hung in clusters’. Expect guitars, metronomes and ping-pong balls.

Musical pulses and temporal vortices are explored in French composer Michaël Lévinas’s swarming, otherworldly Trois Pensées pour CoMA, while Howard Jones’ The Illusion of Progress speaks loudly to our current age. The concert also features a new work by Lithuanian Ruta Vitkauskaite, a composer seeking mythic musical archetypes.

Ligeti: Poème symphonique 
Gallery Level, 5pm | Free, unticketed pre-concert event
Time to wind down, with Ligeti’s Poème symphonique for 100 metronomes. If you have brought along a metronome please be ready to help set up at 4.30pm.

Date & time:Sun 23 Sep – 6.30pm
Venue:Hall One
Price:£22.50-£14.50 | Savers Sold Out
+ £3 booking fee.

Booking Fees

A £3.00 booking fee will be applied to all telephone and online purchases. An optional postage fee of £1.50 is applied if you wish to receive your tickets by post. Booking fees do not apply to purchases made in person at the Box Office.

Availability:Tickets available

*subject to availability

SAVE 15% when you book two workshops and the evening concert
Discount automatically applied when the events have been added to your online basket. This offer is limited and subject to event availability. Saver Seats are excluded from the discount.
CoMA Anniversary Ensemble Back to top
Book tickets