Tel 020 7520 1440

Hugo Ticciati & O/Modernt Chamber Orchestra

Looping Time

Fri 21 Sep 2018

Hugo Ticciati & O/Modernt Chamber Orchestra

Looping Time

John Adams Shaker Loops
Erkki-Sven Tüür Violin Concerto No. 2 (UK premiere)
Pérotin Viderunt omnes (arr. Johannes Marmén)
Philip Glass Symphony No. 3
O/Modernt Chamber Orchestra
Hugo Ticciati violin

Artist-in-residence Hugo Ticciati returns with his Swedish O/Modernt Chamber Orchestra for a Minimalist programme focused on spiralling repetitions.

Shaker Loops was John Adams’ breakthrough work, in which he combined the process of phasing with waves of oscillating melodic cells to create complex, pulsing patterns. Wave-forms are also important in the music of Estonian Erkki-Sven Tüür, whose Second Violin Concerto receives its UK premiere from Hugo Ticciati. Formerly in a progressive rock band, Tüür draws on Gregorian chant and Minimalist processes to create music of deep stillness and unpredictable, explosive energy. Pérotin provides a prelude to Glass’s Symphony No. 3, at the heart of which is a monumental Chaconne.

Hugo Ticciati, artist-in-residence for Time Unwrapped, also performs:
21 Jan Portrait – Hugo Ticciati & Friends
2 Mar Alternate Time Flows – Dame Evelyn Glennie & O/Modernt Quartet
11 May Time Stands Still – Hugo Ticciati, Víkingur Ólafsson & Miyoko Shida Rigolo
1 Dec Mozart’s Requiem – Hugo Ticciati, O/Modernt, VOCES8 & soloists
5 Dec Quartet for the End of Time – Hugo Ticciati & Friends

Date:Fri 21 Sep 2018
Start time:7.30pm (Doors: 7pm)
Venue:Hall One

Past event

Join the waiting list and be the first to find out if tickets become available.

Join the Waitlist