Tel 020 7520 1440

Piatti Quartet: Dvořák String Quartet No. 14

Rush Hour Lates

Wed 14 Feb

Piatti Quartet: Dvořák String Quartet No. 14

Rush Hour Lates

Webern Langsamer Satz
Anna Appleby Heart Embers (World Premiere)*
Dvořák String Quartet No. 14 in A flat, Op. 105
Michael Trainor violin
Emily Holland violin
Miguel Sobrinho viola
Jessie Ann Richardson cello

In the third edition of our hugely popular hour-long series, Rush Hour Lates, we welcome our new Resident Quartet, the Piatti, to perform Dvořák’s last three quartets and his piano quintet, lovingly set up with musical preludes.

A rare chance to hear Dvořák’s lesser played last Quartet No. 14 written in 1895, with the composer in inspired and joyous form. We nod to Valentine’s Day in this programme, with a work from the furthermost edges of romantic music with Anton Webern’s Langsamer Satz. This beautiful slow movement was written in 1905 whilst on honeymoon and hiking in the Alps and also represents a farewell love letter to tonal writing for Webern. This will be followed by a world premiere from brilliant young composer Anna Appleby.

*This commission is supported by The Marchus Trust.

The performance will last approximately 1 hour, without an interval.

Date:Wed 14 Feb
Start time:6.45pm (Doors: 6.15pm)
Venue:Hall One

Past event

Join the waiting list and be the first to find out if tickets become available.

Join the Waitlist